Local Government Offices

Welcome to the City of Ashton, Idaho, home to slightly more than 1200 people who love our small-town atmosphere, low crime rate, open space, and clean air.

Located barely 60 miles south of the entrance to Yellowstone National Park, the City of Ashton sits just south of the base of Ashton Hill – the rise in State Highway 20 that takes traffic up and into the Yellowstone Caldera. Surrounded by spectacular scenery including the rolling hills of family farms, Ashton is a great place to live, work and play.

City Of Ashton

The City of Ashton is governed by a Mayor and a four-member City Council. Both the Mayor and the Council are elected positions. This governing body is supported by friendly, knowledgeable office staff and various city departments. If you have any questions about the City, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We believe in open government, and we invite you to attend Town Council meetings every second Wednesday of the month at the City Offices, 714 Main Street. You are also invited to attend Planning and Zoning Committee meetings that take place every third Wednesday of the month at the City Offices.

Before any new ordinance is passed or before any change takes place in an existing ordinance, public hearings are held. Notices of these public hearings are given according to current law and all interested individuals are encouraged to attend.

For additional details concerning Ashton City government, check www.cityofashton.com

Fremont County

Fremont County was the first county created after Idaho was admitted to the Union. It was organized by the Legislature in 1893 from the northern part of Bingham County. It was named for John C. Fremont, the pathfinder who surveyed the West for the Government. The first settlement in what is now Fremont County was made in 1879 on Egin Bench. It was these settlers who named St. Anthony Falls because of its similarity to the falls by that name in the Mississippi River.